Shopping cart    |      
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: GTS 8800 with Q6600 vs Geforce 6800 ultra

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default GTS 8800 with Q6600 vs Geforce 6800 ultra

    For some reason my pc's performance is rather lacking and I'm not sure as to why..

    My System: (formatted drive with Clean install)

    OS: WinXP (32bit)
    PSU: 500watt Mad Dog
    MB: Abit IN9 32x Max (with latest mb drivers and Bios)
    Processor: Intel Q6600 2.4ghz
    Memory: 4gigs kingston DDR2 5300 667mhz
    HD: Western Digital Raptor Drive 10,000 Rpm 74gig
    Video: EVGA GTS 8800 320 (with 169/latest force ware drivers)
    CDROM: Mad Dog (POS) :P
    ---------------------------------
    Base line PC Specs:

    OS: WinXP Pro(64bit)
    PSU: ?
    MB: Gigabyte 965p-dq6
    Memory: 2gigs of ?
    cpu: Intel Core 2 dual 3ghz
    HD: Says (physical Disk drive 0) ? 279gig drive
    Video card: Geforce 6800 ultra
    CDrom: doesn't matter

    Scores: (areas of concern do to lack of or questionable performance) My pc is quad core vs the base line which is dual core. and GTS 8800 vs 6800 ultra.

    CPU-Integer Math:
    My PC: 430.1
    Base line PC: 731.1 (+70.0%)

    CPU-Image Rotation:
    My Pc: 2241.5
    BSPC: 3035.5 (+35%)

    Graphics 2D-Lines:
    My PC: 148.0
    BSPC: 274.0 (+85%)

    Graphics 2d-Rectangles:
    My PC: 277.4
    BSPC 437.9 (57%)

    Graphics 2D- Shapes:
    My PC: 10.3
    BSPC: 59.4 (477%)

    Graphics 2D- Fonts/Text:
    MY PC: 347.1
    BSPC: 845.7 (144%)

    Graphics 2d GUI:
    My PC: 283.9
    BSPC: 1208.2 (326%)

    Graphics 3D-Simple:
    My PC: 2640.6
    BSPC: 2984.2 (13%)

    Graphics 3D- Medium:
    My PC: 517.1
    BSPC: 562.4 (8.7%)

    Graphics 3d-Complex:
    My PC: 45.8
    BSPC: 87.6 (91.2%)

    Disk- Sequential Read:
    My PC: 68.2
    BSPC: 157.0 (130%)

    Disk- Sequential write:
    My PC: 68.1
    BSPC: 134.7 (97.8%)

    disk - Random Seek +RW:
    MyPC: 4.16
    BSPC: 9.4

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CPU Results:
    How is a dual core 2 intel out performing my Quad core by 35%-70%?? I know the dual core is at 3ghz vs my 2.4..But with 4 cores it should out score the dual core no? Any Ideas on what may be causing this issue?

    2D results:
    I am very confused with this as well.. the 6800 ultra is killing my GTS 8800 in 2D performance! Plus doesn't this also reflect HD speed? Curious as to why I have such Crap performance in 2D on an average of 300% :O

    3D Results:
    Now this is really concerning me.. 6800 ultra spanks a newer GTS 8800 ? Even if the Ultra has more Memory how can it be killing my GTS 8800? I should have bought a 6800 ultra and saved some serious cash..

    Either this software is highly inaccurate or my hardware is performing at 1/2 its ability if not less than 1/2. Is this an indication of Under Powered by the PSU? or Perhaps a Bad processor? I don't have any issues running the system in general..I only see issues when benching this pc..
    Last edited by SniprKlr; 12-31-2007 at 12:45 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    4,998

    Default

    You posted your post in the wrong forum section. I have moved it.

    You then double posted your post. I have deleted the duplicate.

    Please be more careful.

    You scores seem mostly OK for the hardware. But you seem to have deliberately picked a tricked out PC to compare yours to, so of course your machine might be slower in some areas.

    • You are comparing a 64bit machine to your 32bit machine. The 64bit machine can perform some operations much faster. In particular operations on larger 64bit numbers (integer maths).
    • Having Quad cores doesn't make graphics any faster in general. Nor does a large power supply.
    • NVidia have an apparent performance bug in their newer drivers. They have told us last week they are investigating it.
    • The baseline PC might have been overclocked, tweaked, with different resolution, driver settings and video settings.
    • The baseline PC was probably running a high end RAID disk system.
    • There might have been other issues as well. Like background tasks running on your PC.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I realized that.. I posted it after you moved it lol.. I didn't know you had moved it.. I tried to edit the one you deleted to say please ignore because of the double post :P sorry mate

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I found some answers thanks to some help :P and 5 secs to actually read a few other posts..
    HD issue: Base line PC- Obviously in raid
    2D problem - Case of Nvidia Crappy drivers.
    3d- not solved as to why a 6800 ultra is out performing 8800gts
    Cpu- 32bit vs 64bit

    Would moving to a 64bit OS help with my CPU scores? Or does my Processor need to be 64bit as well to do this?..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    4,998

    Default

    Both your CPU and O/S need to be 64bit. PerformanceTest will return better CPU benchmark scores in this case.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SniprKlr View Post

    Would moving to a 64bit OS help with my CPU scores? Or does my Processor need to be 64bit as well to do this?..
    My score went up quite a bit (mainly from cpu and ram performance) moving from vista x86 to x64. From 1124 to 1272 (pre sp1) to 1284 (w/ sp1).

    As far as cpu scores, since I have a non-oc'd q6600, this is what I get:

    CPU-Integer Math:
    Your Score: 430.1
    My Score: 1057.2

    CPU-Image Rotation:
    Your Score: 2241.5
    My Score: 4499.2

    Not looking good man... not sure what the deal is. Make sure you updated your bios to the latest version (the old one SUCK on this mobo).

    These are my specs specs:

    Q6600 @ 2.4 (stock)
    4gb of patriot extreme performance ram @ 4-4-4-12
    Abit IN9 32 MAX mobo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    what was your cpu score before going to 64bit OS? I know the Q6600 supports 64bit...Perhaps that is why 32bit performance is lacking?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SniprKlr View Post
    what was your cpu score before going to 64bit OS? I know the Q6600 supports 64bit...Perhaps that is why 32bit performance is lacking?
    I don't recall to be honest, I just noted the final score. However, that improvement was mainly in the cpu score. ALSO, make sure your using the x64 version of PT, I made that mistake too, and my score went up using that as well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •